WIAW # 5

WIAW #5

Happy Wednesday everyone!

Hope all is well. People generally have the perception of Australia as being warm, sunny, everyones down the beach surfing let me tell you this ain’t true!! Well at least for 3-4 months Melbourne generally gets a shocking winter. Cold, rainy and miserable our average winter temperature is around 10 degrees – That is cold for us!!! Today’s temp was a delish 15 degrees so my Wednesday eats are full of comfort food, sitting around the fire, studying and catching up with the family. Big hi to my Ma who is having her appendix out today up in Queensland, recover well. Be a good patient!

I love waking up to this view each morning as I leave my house for my morning run – Could/would never get sick of looking at this!

One of my favourite views 🙂

[Breakfast]

Breakfast this morning was the breakfast of champions, my daily breakky, so fingers crossed soon I will be a superstar!

Oat porridge with cinnamon topped with blueberries and raspberries and a white tea with lemon.

Porridge with berries & white tea with lemon

[Snack] today was a vitamin C packed kiwi fruit.

[Lunch]

Thank god for grandparents. My Nan is a pretty good cook, I love her comfort foods and I know I’ll never be able to recreate any of her recipes – she definitely must have secrets hidden in her apron somewhere! My two fav ‘Nan’ foods are her corned beef and lamb shank soup.

Today’s lunch was Nan’s lambshank soup but still hungry I had some shaved ham from the fridge and some roasted nuts along with a cuppa for an afternoon pick me up!

Nan's famous lamb shank soup

[Dinner]

Tonights dinner was my attempt at chicken pho. I went to Box Hill centro aka ‘Vietnamese anything asian town’ and picked up all my spices for the pho. I was in heaven and can’t wait to go back and discover what other exotic foods I can find there – I was in a rush because I parked illegally and I have a terrible habit for accumulating parking fines at the moment!

Homemade chicken pho

This pho was amazing taste exactly like I have at my local Vietnamese restaurant. RECIPE COMING SOON!

Would love to know what are your favourite comfort foods that your grandparents cook for you?

Before my Nonna passed away we would go there every weekend and she would cook each of us kids (4) whatever dish we would like. My favourites were gnocchi pomodoro, lasagne, meatballs, ‘shell soup’ which was just chicken broth with shell pasta and Nonna’s famous crostoli.

Hope all is well my amigos. Eat well & be well. *** Also I made my first ever homemade nutella yesterday – amazing, addictive. Recipe coming soon. Get excited!

sp x

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “WIAW # 5

  1. Ma says:

    Morning everyone, I thought it was about time I introduced myself…my name is Barb and I am proud to say that I am Sarah’s mum. As you have no doubt discovered Sar is an amazing nutritional cook! I am a psychotherapist who deals with the emotional healing of people, predominantly those who have been diagnosed with a life-threatening illness. As I believe in a holistic approach to healing in the future I aspire to work with Sar to help those less fortunate.

    Bye for now, and remember to treasure every moment.
    Ma …aka Sarah’s mum.

  2. That IS a nice view! Loving your breakfast! Oatmeal with berries is a favorite of mine. 🙂

  3. […] other week you might of seen my WIAW #5 post where I braved the cold and all the asian grocery stores of Box Hill to make my first ever […]

  4. teabagginit says:

    love the pho! my obachan used to make udon for me and that’s always my comfort food now!

Leave a Reply

